1988 Lugano Convention

Convention of 16 September 1988 on jurisdiction and the enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters, entered into between the fifteen pre-2004 European Union ( www.practicallaw.com/6-107-6562) member states ( www.practicallaw.com/1-107-6833) , Poland and the European Free Trade Association ( www.practicallaw.com/4-107-6558) countries other than Liechtenstein (namely Iceland, Switzerland and Norway). (The fifteen pre-2004 EU member states are the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Denmark, Ireland, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Austria, Finland, and Sweden.)

The 1988 Lugano Convention has been superceded by the 2007 Lugano Convention ( www.practicallaw.com/6-501-0897) (published in the Official Journal on 21 December 2007 (L339/3)) and only remains relevant for proceedings commenced before the applicable date of the entry into force of the 2007 Lugano Convention in the relevant state of origin. The effects of the 1988 Lugano Convention are materially the same as the Brussels Convention ( www.practicallaw.com/0-205-5104) .

For further guidance, see Practice notes:

{ "siteName" : "PLC", "objType" : "PLC_Doc_C", "objID" : "1247244984912", "objName" : "ACT_OWNED - READ_ONLY - 3-205-5193", "userID" : "2", "objUrl" : "http://us.practicallaw.com/cs/Satellite/us/resource/3-205-5193?source=relatedcontent", "pageType" : "Resource", "academicUserID" : "", "contentAccessed" : "true", "analyticsPermCookie" : "25e8a493e:15b10628bd6:-3a1a", "analyticsSessionCookie" : "25e8a493e:15b10628bd6:-3a19", "statisticSensorPath" : "http://analytics.practicallaw.com/sensor/statistic" }