New Lugano Convention signed

We have previously reported on the new Lugano Convention, which will replace the existing Lugano Convention of 1988 between the EC and certain EFTA states, namely Switzerland, Norway, and Iceland (see Legal update, New Lugano convention on jurisdiction in line with Brussels Regulation).

The new Convention has now been signed. In accordance with article 69, it will come into force on the first day of the sixth month following the deposit of the articles of ratification with the Swiss Federal Council by the EC and the relevant EFTA country.

Source: Europa
PLC Dispute Resolution


The full text of this resource is available by logging in or by requesting a trial. If you have any questions, please contact us or your Practical Law Account Executive.

Free trial

A free trial will give you:

Unlimited access to our online legal know-how services during the trial period
Full training and support
Four issues of Practical Law The Journal, the companion to Practical Law online
Weekly update e-mails on current legal developments in your practice area

Log in using Practical Law username

Only use this login if you have not set up OnePass for Practical Law

{ "siteName" : "PLC", "objType" : "PLC_Doc_C", "objID" : "1247245474156", "objName" : "New Lugano Convention signed", "userID" : "2", "objUrl" : "", "pageType" : "Resource", "academicUserID" : "", "contentAccessed" : "false", "analyticsPermCookie" : "22e97be00:15afa14afef:-6980", "analyticsSessionCookie" : "22e97be00:15afa14afef:-697f", "statisticSensorPath" : "" }