Overview of pension schemes in the public sector

This note provides an overview of pension schemes in the public sector. It looks at the four main statutory schemes: the Local Government Pension Scheme, the Principal Civil Service Pension Scheme, the National Health Service Pension Scheme and the Teachers' Pension Scheme. It also provides an overview of trust-based pension schemes that operate in the broader public-sector arena, like the Universities Superannuation Scheme and the Social Housing Pension Scheme.

Paul Carberry, Gowling WLG (UK) LLP


The full text of this resource is available by logging in or by requesting a trial. If you have any questions, please contact us or your Practical Law Account Executive.

Free trial

A free trial will give you:

Unlimited access to our online legal know-how services during the trial period
Full training and support
Four issues of Practical Law The Journal, the companion to Practical Law online
Weekly update e-mails on current legal developments in your practice area

Log in using Practical Law username

Only use this login if you have not set up OnePass for Practical Law

{ "siteName" : "PLC", "objType" : "PLC_Doc_C", "objID" : "1247243037608", "objName" : "Overview of pension schemes in the public sector", "userID" : "2", "objUrl" : "http://us.practicallaw.com/cs/Satellite/us/resource/8-383-4688?q=&qp=&qo=&qe=", "pageType" : "Resource", "academicUserID" : "", "contentAccessed" : "false", "analyticsPermCookie" : "22e97be00:15afeebc967:-7b4a", "analyticsSessionCookie" : "22e97be00:15afeebc967:-7b49", "statisticSensorPath" : "http://analytics.practicallaw.com/sensor/statistic" }